Ballots are counted – Results are in!

  • May 22, 2020
  • Jillian Schoene
  • Emerge Oregon

Ballots are counted – Results are in!

Well, that was an amazing – and interesting – primary election season. No one certainly planned for a pandemic and we are proud of how all of our candidates navigated the challenge, balancing so much more in their work and home lives than expected.

We are also proud for how all of them stood strong, and true, to their values. They centered their campaigns on the health and well being of Oregonians – and this place we all share and call home. That’s important because the next few years are going to require tough decisions. We are certainly glad the leading voices in Salem hold Democratic values.

On the May ballot, we had 43 Emerge women compete in 38 different races – some of them in primaries with 5 candidates or more! And we are happy to share that Emerge women won or advanced to November in 84% of those races! When more women run, more women win!

Now, at Emerge, we have a November election to focus on – and are pleased to announce that thus far, we have a total of 54 women who have or will run this year. That’s a 20% increase compared to 2018. So incredibly fantastic! And more could announce before summer is over.

Congrats to these candidates who won outright in May:

Jessica Vega Pederson, Multnomah County Commission

Sharon Meieran, Multnomah County Commission

Lucy Vinis, Eugene Mayor

Claire Syrett, Eugene City Council

Carmen Rubio, Portland City Council

Candidates advancing to November:

Shemia Fagan, Secretary of State

Deb Patterson, Senate District 10

Kathleen Taylor, Senate District 21

Eileen Kiely, Senate District 27

Carina Miller, Senate District 30

Mary Middleton, House District 4

Julie Fahey, House District 14

Paige Hook, House District 17

Jackie Leung, House District 19

Teresa Alonso Leon, House District 22

Sheri Schouten, House District 27

Wlnsvey Campos, House District 28

Maxine Dexter, House District 33

Dacia Grayber, House District 35

Lisa Reynolds, House District 36

Rachel Prusak, House District 37

Andrea Salinas, House District 38

Tessah Danel, House District 39

Karin Power, House District 41

Emerson Levy, House District 53

Terrie Martin, Jackson County Commissioner

Laurie Trieger, Lane County Commission

Nafisa Fai, Washington County Commission

Ashley Carson-Cottingham, Marion County Commission

Lacey Beaty, Beaverton Mayor

Eliza Kashinsky, Eugene City Council

Kori Rodley, Springfield City Council